Climbing in tunic and bearskin? Mark

pathway through the trees on Box Hill with sunlight streaming in betweenB****Y freezing Friday evening walking up Box Hill.

The air was still and the sun put on a good show as it went down behind the North Downs.

There was nobody out walking apart from me and the lights down below twinkled in the cold evening air.

It felt seasonally wonderful. I really ought to keep this up even after the Kili climb!?

I caught a glimpse of the ‘Surrey Puma’ as I descended. Well it was large and definitely not a dog…didn’t look like a fox either. Other wildlife was flitting or scurrying to and fro. I felt privileged to have this all to myself.

I am back into training properly and am making my Box Hill climbs at least 3 times a week. Sometimes I can be heard singing as I walk along. This is essential
(a) to pass the time and
(b) the porters and guides sing to their charges as they encourage them to keep going up Kili.

On the last day ‘we’ are supposed to return the compliment, so I need to practice and go through my repertoire. I also had a go at running up the hill….well for a couple of hundred feet anyway. But that was hard work, especially in walking boots. I have, in my past, marched, arms swinging, across the Brecon Beacons, which brought on another thought…….

Having watched the Monty Python ‘Kilimanjaro’ sketch again recently, when asked to ‘dress up’ for a Surrey Advertiser photo shoot I couldn’t resist doing it in Pith Helmet, tweeds and corduroys. My brother did likewise though Rosie was less than impressed. She was just a trite embarrassed by her father and uncle standing in the High Street dressed like to old colonial Cholmondeley-Warners. But then, from my point of view, it was more comfortable than a Rhino costume. After hanging around the street for half an our gathering curious glances from the general public we had a good few photos taken and hopefully we will be front page in the Surrey Ad soon.

I have also been given a ‘Guardsman’ Teddy Bear to take to the top of Kilimanjaro. This made me think! Dressing up……

…..I wonder if anyone has climbed it in full Tunic & Bearskin. It’s a thought!?…….

to be continued….


Photo with thanks to Eclipse_Etc on Flickr, available at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eclipse_etc/2412498849

Leave a comment