DAVID

11016543_1066282563387135_1184678901_n

So there we were.  Having endured a one and a half hour ‘lecture’ by a God (to some) we departed the RGS for Ognisko’s; the Polish ‘club’ 100 yards down Exhibition Road.  We have been here a few times and I must say it is getting better and better.  As usual Cathy, and Save the Rhino, had reserved a few tables.  The Club has had a makeover and is looking much better (it was a bit tired…and clubbish!!!).  The food is much better too, so if you fancy trying out a bit of Polish cuisine you could do worse than give it a try.

The Club was the Headquarters for the Free Polish forces during WWII.

There were about 20 of us sitting down for dinner.  It is always a nice way to end the day (after the DAML) provided we didn’t miss the last traing home!!

And I have to say that this time it was more memorable the normal.

Sitting next to me on the nearby table (STR had 3 tables) was a grey-haired bearded man who looked strangely familiar.

It was David Gilmour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are we talking, God, or, GOD!!!!

How many hours, or years, have I spent listening to Pink Floyd??

I have to admit it is a bit like Marmite.  You either love Pink Floyd or you hate it.  There is no middle ground.  You can guess from my comments above…..I love PInk Floyd!!!  Always have.

I have worked for them, as a Roadie, and I attended the original ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ concert (I still have the ticket and programme!!)

I don’t think any band comes close or bestrides the history of modern music like this colossus.  Other Bands may have been more popular (Stones, Beatles etc) but nothing quite so gigantic.  Even now as I think of the music and lyrics, it was though I had the chance to meet William Shakespeare in person.

What does one say on these occasions???  What can one say????

It was reassuring to see, as he left, his only accoutrement was an orange Sainsbury’s bag!!

Leave a Reply

